December Daily Looking Back: Day 25 2011

Dec-daily-bannerDSC_8408Christmas Day 2011 meant multiple Christmas events! It was our first Christmas morning at HOME, with our tree, just the two of us and the cats playing in wrapping paper. I have to say that I really loved this and can’t wait to have a Christmas morning with just the two of us again.

The first page is on a Making Memories ‘Noel’ background paper, a kraft cardstock mat and four photos from Christmas morning (two were put through an Instagram filter, the other two were from our DSLR). The sticker is Kikki.K and I wrote some journaling at the bottom. At the top of this page is a small tab to mark Christmas Day in the album.

Next up is a patterned transparency. My guess is Kaiser Craft because I am almost certain I got it at Spotlight. I wanted to use this as a divider between our Christmas morning and the family Christmas that we were going to during the day. The sticker on this side is Kikki.K, as is the tape. I used a half circle of Graphic 45 paper as a tab and on this side wrote ‘OURS’.

DSC_8411This is the reverse of the transparency. Another Kikki.K sticker and piece of tape, with this side of the tab saying ‘FAMILY’.

DSC_8412As with Christmas Day in 2010, I used a cut down We R Memory Keepers page protector for a few extra pieces I wanted to keep. I kept the section with the holes this time and it made the right pockets much smaller. I think I prefer the size of the pockets from 2010, to be honest! As I had cut them almost in half, I used tape to seal them up. This isn’t real washi tape and it doesn’t adhere very well, unfortunately.

The first pocket on the left is of Missy being rather unimpressed with her Christmas ribbon and a Kikki.K sticker. The next pocket is one of the gift tags Simon used (he pilfered my stash when he was wrapping presents) and I think it was Kikki.K as well. Going clockwise, the next pocket is part of the packaging from the kite I gave Simon and the last pocket uses a Graphic 45 paper as the background, a tag I made for Simon’s presents and a gold brad to keep it all in place.

DSC_8413The reverse of the page protector is two photos of my parents from the family reunion. The top right photo is my Mama with her great nephew and the bottom photo is my Dad as Santa again and my gorgeous cousin Katie, who was Santa’s little helper. All the stickers on this page are Kikki.K and the paper is from the Kaiser Craft ‘December 25’ set. The ‘Christmas’ rub-on would have been something I had in my stash from days long gone!

DSC_8414As I mentioned, this was my Mum’s Christmas family reunion. There were a few members missing but it was wonderful to see all of the people that came, some we hadn’t seen in many, many years. The last family Christmas was 1993, so one was definitely overdue.

This next insert is a photo of everyone who came – thank god for cameras on tripods and timers! Across the top is more of the Kikki.K Christmas tape and I wrote ‘the o’connell clan’ with a Sharpie.

DSC_8415The reverse of this insert is a photo of just the grandkids that were there (there were another three missing). And yes, I was the eldest of the grandkids that was there and am also the shortest (of those there!).

DSC_8416As I did with the last page of December 25 in 2010, I created a collage of more photos from the day, interspersed with digital elements from Ali Edwards. Across the top is my cousin Lauren with my Mama, who is also her godmother; a photo of my Mum’s youngest sister and me (we are only 11 years apart); and lastly Kane, Santa and my brother. The large photo in the middle is my family – Dad, Mum, Tim, me and Simon. The ‘family’ digital element is from Ali Edwards’ ‘Family Hand Drawn Words‘ set (the heart sticker is Kikki.K). The next row is Simon and I; me with my baby second cousin, Hayden; and a photo of my Aunty Jane, Lauren, Tim, Kane, me and my Mama. The next row is an Ali Edwards’ ‘Christmas Memory Tag‘ which I trimmed and resized to fit next to a block of some journaling. The last row is a photo of Simon and Santa; Tim and I; and finally a photo of Lauren, Tim, Kane and I (looking very short next to those three who are all younger than me!). The twills between the rows are from Ali’s ‘Christmas Twill‘ digital set.

A big day with lots of laughs, presents, cousins, food and even a few dramas. What family gathering this large doesn’t? Thankfully, Simon and I could head home to our quiet flat and enjoy the evening with our kitties.

And that is Christmas Day 2011!

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

