December Daily Looking Back: Day 25 2010

Dec-daily-bannerDD2010_DSC_3467Christmas Day is here! December 25 takes up multiple pages in each of the books. I thought it easier to split this into two posts, one of 2010 and another for 2011.

The first page is a photo of the presents under the tree at Crazy O’Clock on Christmas morning. Christmas Day is the only day of the year I voluntarily get up at first light and wake everyone else up. I love presents, I love the pageantry of Christmas and I love spending the day with people I care about. I love it even more when I have no idea what I am getting for Christmas! The background paper is Ruby Rock-It ‘Christmas Cheer’ and the sticker is from a sticker pack from KMart (it was most likely their own generic brand).

I added a trimmed down We R Memory Keepers page protector to create a page of pockets for photos and gift tags. The top left photo is of my Dad playing Santa Claus – it’s a job he ends up with every year. I think it’s the beard! All the stickers on this page and the next are Kikki.K. The second photo is of Simon opening presents. Christmas for Simon had never been a huge thing (the year before he was on his own in Rockhampton and it didn’t worry him), so opening lots of presents was new for him. I loved watching him be so excited, especially with my present of an Apple TV that he wasn’t expecting! The last photo on this page is of my cousin/godson with his giant bag of Minties that we gave him.

DD2010_DSC_3468On the back of the page protector is the reverse of the previous gift tag, a second gift tag and two related photos. The top left photo is the surprise Tiffany’s box from Simon and the bottom right photo is my reaction to opening the four layers of paper and boxes to get to the little blue box! Shock and awe was that Simon was aiming for and he got it!

The next insert is a picture of the whole of Mum’s Christmas tree that Simon took. The tag at the bottom has a rub-on from a Kaiser Craft ‘Belle Collection’ Christmas set. I finished it off with another little Christmas brad and rounded the corners of the photo.

DD2010_DSC_3469The back of the photo is a little story about my Grandma. I created the page in Photoshop and printed the text and border directly onto the kraft cardstock. I then printed the picture of my Mum and Grandma and added it to the page.

The final page for Christmas Day is a collage of photos from lunch with the extended family. I took the idea from Ali’s Christmas Day pages by using photos, a digital canvas twill and journaling directly onto the photo paper. In the middle of the photos I also used one of Ali’s Gratitude Circles that says ‘celebrate’ and at the bottom of the page I rounded things out with a Making Memories ‘Noel’ paper and ‘Noel’ Artisan Plaque.

I really like how this day came together in the mini-book. The only problem was that when I was taking the photos I put a little bit of Blue-tac on the photo to hold the next page up and it left a smear across Kane’s face. Not. Happy. Jan.

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

