Scrapfriends Sketch Challenge #9

Simon found me a local scrapbooking shop that has online shopping for me after one of my little tantrums over shipping costs from scrapbook.com to Australia. I’ve already had quite a few orders from ScrapFriends since the start of December and I am sure I will be buying quite a bit more!

On their blog they have monthly colour and sketch challenges and I thought ‘Why not? Just give it a go!’. I’ve been putting more of my work out there and I am getting a lot of positive feedback. I also thought this would be a good way for me to experiment with different products and techniques that I might not otherwise use. The current sketch challenge is this:

sketch_30And this is my interpretation of the sketch:

OLW-fullI will admit that I second guessed myself with this a number of times, going back and forth, showing Simon and saying ‘What do you think?’. I did consider starting over but it was done and again, why not?

OLW-closeup-1I wanted my layout to be something that I’d want to keep and by using a photo of my One Little Word necklace that I received last week, I knew I could add this into my OLW album. I used the basic structure of the sketch, but sticking with the colours that I’m using in both OLW and Project Life this year. The background cardstock is Kasier Card in ‘Sunshine’.

OLW-titleTo give the layout balance I added a couple pieces of washi tape and a Pebbles ‘Masking Tape’ sticker in the top left corner. The title was one of the ‘no thinking, just do’ aspects of this layout and I love it. Using some new American Crafts Fabric Thickies and Lily Bee Designs alphas, I continued the stepping down effect that I was creating by playing with the different sized letters.

OLW-closeup-3The photo is the focal point of this layout and I built it up over the washi tape chevrons which use four different washi tapes (two Kamoi washi tapes and two MT tapes). The next layer is Brazzills kraft cardstock, followed by a Kikki.K tag and than the photo. To bring things together a bit more I added extra MT washi tape around the top and sides of the photos, contrasting with the diagonal stripe Kikki.K ‘Sketch’ stickers. Sticking with the original sketch I added a circle sticker to the bottom right (Amy Tangerine ‘Good Times’ accent sticker). Around the picture is also a Snap! Studios tag sticker where I wrote the date, two Amy Tangerine heart stickers and a Pebbles ‘Washi Tape’ sticker with the arrow.

OLW-closeup-2To draw the eye across the page, I added a small shipping tag in the very bottom right corner for some journaling. To balance the maroon in one of the washi tapes that I used in the chevrons, I added another accent colour with a different MT washi tape. To soften the colour of the shipping tag, I rubbed Tim Holtz Distress Ink in ‘Squeezed Lemon’ with a sponge over it. I actually ripped another row of chevrons off the page (I felt it wasn’t balanced) and I went around the outer edge of the page and over the ripped areas with the distress ink to bring it all together.

I think I will try to do a scrap challenge at least once a month to push myself a little. I might actually add layouts to one of my scrapbooking albums that has nothing in it!

Tagged , , ,

6 thoughts on “Scrapfriends Sketch Challenge #9

  1. Jasmine says:

    This looks lovely. The yellow background and the chevrons are just fabulous.

  2. Gina says:

    lovely page..and great chevron detail!..:)

  3. […] blogged about my first pages of my album here and I created the layout with my OLW necklace for a Scrap Challenge. The next page is a wrap up of how I went with my January […]

  4. […] January I was very enthused with the layout I did for the Scarp Challenge I entered. The layout didn’t take me all that long to do and I was feeling motivated and […]

Leave a Reply

