Then and now

My beautiful Bestie and I have known each other since 1994. Bestie was a year ahead of me at school, however she did an amazing exchange program to France and came back into my year when she returned. I remember sitting in classes with her and bonding over our shared love of books and Doc Marten boots (her’s were purple, mine were black).

I knew I was going back to Wollongong to go to uni and it somehow rubbed off on Bestie, with her deciding to make the move as well. We did a few loooooong train trips but we settled quite nicely into the suburbs of Wollongong and are now both proud graduates of the University of Wollongong.

While Bestie was at college, she met her future husband. The photo from 2002 above is from their wedding. They still live down south and I miss Bestie terribly. Her family are still on the north coast and a few months ago, she asked if she could stay a night with us and than go to the airport from our place. I cannot tell you how excited I was! Her and her husband stayed with us just before Christmas for a night, so it would almost be six months since I’d seen her.

So, this is us during the week, modelling our new hats from our shopping trip (I was good, Bestie was not).

Over the years, we drifted apart when we were studying different courses, when I was married to a person who was not liked by my friends and than the tyranny of distance. We always did keep in touch in some way but we didn’t talk a lot. This year, we’ve made a conscious effort to build our friendship and we are closer then we’ve ever been.We think in a very similar way, we have the same sense of humour and she is my partner in Camper shoes purchases (she was texting Simon while I was in Camper, telling him to let me buy my gorgeous red boots).

I miss her already! Come back and visit me again soon, Bestie! Promise that next time you won’t have to sleep on the air mattress in the lounge room.

Tagged

Leave a Reply

