The joy of books

While I had seen this video before, I watched it again last night and I am still in awe of the creativity and patience of artists to create something like this. How cute are the two black and white dancing books?

I was reminded of this video while reading the blog of one of my very arty friends Rhonda Ayliffe. I knew of Roni through the Australian Calligraphy Society and we became friends through Facebook/Twitter. Last year, when she was the resident artist at the Byron Bay Writer’s Festival, we managed to catch up in person. She is a gorgeous bundle of creativity and inspiration, with a wicked sense of humour. Roni’s work uses books and looks at the relationship of text, art and the environment (being a country girl, she is passionate about the environment). One of these days I’d love to own one of her pieces.

I’ve been thinking a lot about where my creativity fits into the scheme of things (Is it still valuable if it’s not ‘fine art’? Who am I going this for? Do I want to push further and sell some of my work?) and as Roni is working on her Master of Fine Arts, she often blogs about what she is reading and how it fits into her art making. You can see some of her writing here and here. When I read this quote, it made me feel that my work is as relevant as anyone else’s:

Art is not ‘out there’, it’s with you, in you, around you. Art can be found everywhere, all the time. Art should not be about ego and is not the exclusive domain of the ‘genius’. Art can be how something is done- including simple everyday matters like making a meal, mending a shirt. Art doesn’t require special equipment and a designated space.  Art doesn’t have to be BIG or expensive or even be for sale in order to have value. Art truly can be in the process, in the making, not just the end product

I’ll have to check with Roni on who this quote is from (naughty girl didn’t actually attribute it in her blog post!) but I think it’s a good summing up of stripping creativity back from all of the confusing outside influences and just being a part of it.

I need to do more of simply being a part of my art.

Tagged ,

3 thoughts on “The joy of books

  1. Sean Breslin says:

    There is absolutely nothing as cool as an old library.

  2. ronnie says:

    ahhhhhh gush….. my ears are burning (which is perhaps better than what is mostly burning around here….. if you know what I mean!)

    ps – ‘quote’ up there was also penned by me….. opinionated little bugger that I sometimes get to be (especially when surrounded by what I call ‘late capitalist art’ – eg art that’s all about the dollars – but makes very little sense….)

    go forth and make great stuff m’dear….. that’s all any of us can do….

  3. Whoa! This blog looks exactly like my old one!
    It’s on a entirely different topic but it has pretty much the same layout and design. Superb choice of colors!

Leave a Reply

