31 things: view

Lying in bed, when I look out the window all I see is sky. No high rise buildings. No signs or advertising. Just sky. Some days it is stormy. Some blue and bright with sunshine. Some nights it is clear and stars twinkle back at me. Others dark and devoid of all light. If I stay lying down, I could almost forget there was any other view out of that window.

The view standing up from our bedroom window and from the kitchen window looks across to Mt Cooth-tha. It’s not a high mountain as far as mountains go, but it dominates the view from our windows. I have many photos of the sun setting behind Mt Coot-tha, of storms brewing and fog setting in over the time we’ve lived here. It has proved to be a rather photogenic mountain.

The radio and television transmitter lights atop Mt Coot-tha are almost like a beacon guiding us home when we’ve been away, as you can see them from the city. The lights from the lookout at the top look like fairy lights at night. The view from the top over Brisbane is pretty spectacular and we went up there a couple of years ago when Simon was down from Rocky for a weekend. I had also gone up there years and years ago when Susan was still living in Brisbane and I came up to visit for a few days.

Below the mountain and closer in view to us, is a fairly major road and some shops. The KFC and Red Rooster signs stand out with their bright red logos and storefronts. Their drive thru’s are high on our ‘non favourite things about living here’ list. There are some lovely trees and flowering plants closer to our place, which help break up this mid section of suburbia. The birds that live in them entertain our cats … maybe that should be taunt our cats. The birds and flowers have also made for some nice photographic subject matter over time.

The shopping centre across the road in under redevelopment and along with a lot of noise very early in the mornings, the view changes almost every day. Car parks have been removed, large concrete ramps are gone and sections of the lower part of the building are being transformed. The construction of a rather large crane proved an interesting distraction, notsomuch the bright corporate logo sign that now prominently sits on top of it and shines into our bedroom at night.

When I grew up in Wollongong, seeing the escarpment and the mountains behind us everyday provided a solid backdrop to where we lived. When we left Wollongong, the small plateau behind Ballina just didn’t have the same feel. When I returned to Wollongong and lived close to the uni, Mt Keira dominated the view and I loved looking at it every day when I walked to uni. There is something about being between a mountain and the sea that means home to me. I don’t have the sea nearby living in Brisbane now, but Mt Coot-tha seems to be enough to give me that sense of home. Sometimes when I’ve been coming home from work, when the light is just right, if I look over to Mt Coot-tha it almost feels like I am back in Wollongong.

Tagged

2 thoughts on “31 things: view

  1. Jeanene Loyd says:

    I’d like to thank you for the efforts you have put in penning this blog. I am hoping to view the same high-grade content by you in the future as well. In fact, your creative writing abilities has motivated me to get my own, personal site now 😉

  2. Definitely, what a magnificent blog and educative posts, I will bookmark your site.All the Best!

Leave a Reply

