Reclaiming time

The irony of this is not lost on me.

In 2009, I joined Twitter and quickly got hooked. That immediacy of reading the thoughts of people I admire, reading the news as it happened, seeing into other people’s lives through photos, links and ideas. I loved the camaraderie that grew when I was getting to know Chaos’ friends in real life through Twitter. When I got an iphone, I quickly added the Twitter app and I also added a client on my laptop, so that I was always connected.

So, this morning I’m doing my usual checking of email, blogs, twitter and the news. A link to this article was tweated by Smashing Magazine. I read through the article and sat stunned.

That was me. Being enslaved to the little blue bubble on my taskbar. Having the attention span of a flea. Being easily distracted and never being able to just do one thing anymore. I used to have Facebook open in my browser all the time, but about 12 months ago, I stopped and I check it maybe once a day, maybe twice if someone has commented on something. I made up my mind to stop being enslaved to Facebook and it was time to go cold turkey with Twitter,  but not before I ‘followed’ @rainypixels. Hrm …

I closed my Twitter client and I feel like I have my life back. I’m not checking my computer every five seconds. As the article suggested, suddenly there is time to finish things. I got more done today at work than I have in weeks. You’ll notice that there is no longer a Twitter widget on my blog. I haven’t uninstalled the client but I don’t have an overwhelming urge to open it again right now. Sure, there is an element of ‘Wonder what they are doing?’, but there was a time before life was encapsulated in 140 characters where we got on with our lives and didn’t need to know everything about everyone.

There are so many books to read, so many TV shows to catch up on, letters to write and silences to enjoy.

Thanks, Twitter. It’s been fun.

3 thoughts on “Reclaiming time

  1. Nishant says:

    I’m excited for you. Keep us posted (but not through Twitter) 🙂

Leave a Reply

