Finding Neverland

I needed some escapism and this weekend I have indulged in some DVD therapy.

First up was ‘The World’s Fastest Indian’ with Anthony Hopkins which I watched with my Dad. Dad is a motorbike rider and I love riding with Dad. We’ve watched all of Ewan McGregor and Charlie Boorman’s adventures together and I’m probably the most supportive of Dad’s bike thing because I know how much he loves it. This was such a brilliant film with a wonderful true story. I was cheering when he was allowed to have his timed run at Bonneville and I really believed that Anthony Hopkins was Burt Munro. Totally loved this film for its truth and strength.

Next up was a tear jerker which I’d made a bet with Angel that I wouldn’t cry in. I was stupid making that bet. I’m not big on chick flicks which I’m sure is against the religion of female kind but I’m just not into a mushy movie that has no story and is aimed at the lowest common denomiator. ‘PS I Love You’ surprised me and I was crying from about 20 minutes in. I was utterly heartbroken when Holly was ringing Gerry’s mobile just to hear his voice one more time. The love he had for her melted my heart and made me wish for someone to love me in that way, someone who would love me enough to try to guide me through grief and finding happiness again. And also didn’t hurt that Gerard Butler was quite easy on the eye too!

And lastly and probably the movie I most enjoyed this weekend was ‘Finding Neverland’ with Johnny Depp and Kate Winslet. I’m sure I was born in the wrong era! I love the clothes, the art, the architecture, the period of creativity and innovation that took place around the turn of the 20th century. I don’t think there is anyone but Johnny Depp who could have created JM Barrie onscreen like he did – this mix of intellectual, sensitive soul but with an impish smile and forever child nature. This film was so well cast and beautifully directed. And I cried in it too. Damn films! I never cry in movies and I cried in two this weekend!

Lucky I didn’t watch ‘Dead Poets Society’. I would have run out of tears!

Leave a Reply

