Accepting

This period of my life is shaping up as one of immense growth, one of learning what it is I want, of understanding who I am, of accepting that this is me in all the guises that I inhabit.

One of the items on my Life List states that I want to be open to experiences, other people’s stories and opinions and what this world has to offer me. To do that I need to allow myself to enter into experiences that may have perviously seemed alien to me, to be guided through by other people and than make up my own mind as to whether it works for me.

All of these experiences shape me. They are the sum total of where I have been and guide where I am going. I would not be me without having lived through what I have, without those dark periods, without the breakdown of my marriage, without painful experiences. All of these things have tempered my soul with a fire and strength I am learning to wield to my advantage. 

Every day unwraps something new for me. A new gem that fits the puzzle that was once so unclear. I’m still working on letting go and immersing myself into this river wholeheartedly but its getting easier each time I try it. And you know what? I feel more confident, more comfortable in my own skin, more accepting.

I was once told that I have a magnetic personality, that people will be attracted to me because of who I am. I never believed it. Why on earth would anyone find me magnetic, even attractive? It’s amazing what you can convince yourself of when you are not being supported to be who you are meant to be.

Today I believe.

Leave a Reply

