My new hobby

Mosaic header

Too much fun! I have started my mosaic workshops and I’ve fallen in love with this artform. Most people would think of mosaic as table tops made from broken tiles and crockery or decorations for mirrors sold at markets. It is, in fact, so much more. Some of the examples that Scott showed us at our first class were mind blowing – the way fabric, faces and movement were captured in tile were pure joy.

My first work is based on an art nouveu design and I’m aiming to keep the colours bold and strong to tie in with this theme. Below are some images of my working drawings, as well as the start of my mosaic. We are using the indirect technique where you work on board from the back of the mosaic and when it is finished, the adhesive and masonary board are attached and the work is turned over, the paper soaked off to reveal the finished mosaic.

Mosaic

The tile cutting is becoming easier and I’m sure with time I will be able to anticipate the way the tile will break when cut. I’m learning how to let go of the notion that every tile has to be ‘perfect’, which is apparently very common for beginners. I also have my first cuts on my fingers from the nippers and the glass, but they will toughen up!

Two more workshops to go, but I have a feeling that I will be continuing on with this new adventure. Plus, I love the studio where we are working!

One thought on “My new hobby

  1. Steph says:

    Congrats! I also recently discovered the amazing diversity of mosaics. I haven’t taken a class yet. I am struggling to make it through my first year of a PhD program. But, I am reading books about it when I can sneak in a few moments. Art Nouveau is my favorite style. It is cool to see what you have done with it in this medium!

Leave a Reply

