Poetry IV

The Moment (1996)

Sometimes I wonder
If the choices I’ve made
Are the right ones.
No one knows for sure,
Not even me.
I often think of the darkness.
It is so inviting …
So peaceful.
I want to escape once more,
Be free in the night …
And never return.

I am weak.
I once was strong enough
To break all attachments.
Now I can not.
I must live through it.
I must endure.
But I will never forget
The moment I could have
The moment I couldn’t take
The moment I should have taken
And save everyone the pain
That I cause.

One thought on “Poetry IV

  1. greatpoetrymhf says:

    Been there but I, unlike you, did not write it down. Thanks for that. I enjoy your gift.

Leave a Reply

