Capturing the spirit

Balance 

bal ance (noun) 1. a state of equilibrium or equipoise 2. mental steadiness or emotional stability; habit of calm behaviour, judgment, etc 3. a state of bodily equilibrium 4. to bring or to hold in equilibrium 5. to arrange, adjust, or proportion the parts symmetrically 6. to be equal or proportionate to (dictionary.com)

In one of her first posts of the new year, Ali Edwards asked if people had a word to sum up their spirit or feeling for the year, a way of helping to promote positivity and good karma right from the start. I love the word Ali chose – VITALITY – but it took me a couple of more days to decide if that was the right word for me. I had a look at synonyms for vitality and one stood out: BALANCE.

Emotionally, physically and spiritually. I need to find balance in every aspect of my life. Balance in my relationships with others and with myself. Achieving physical balance through yoga, joining a bushwalking club and working out at the gym which will help balance my mind and my emotions. I need to find a balance between my desire to stay up late and read and the need for sleep and rest. A balance between the need/want for an income and the basic requirement of regaining/learning to manage my health. Finding a balance to letting go of aspects of the past that are hurting me yet embracing the memories that nourish me.

My first step? Using ‘balance’ as a mantra to meditate and clear my mind as I try to fall asleep each night.

Tagged ,

3 thoughts on “Capturing the spirit

  1. […] little word for 2008 was ‘balance’ and I did a lengthy post about the need for me to find balance in my life. I would have to say I am still working on this […]

  2. […] for 2008 and I realised this was something that I needed and it could help me. In 2008, my word was BALANCE. In 2009, it was PATIENCE and in 2010, it was JOY. In 2011, my word was […]

  3. […] Little Word workshop recently, and I came across the very first post where I talked about OLW in January 2008. My word for 2015 is HABIT. This word came to me through my journey last year with my 2014 word, […]

Leave a Reply

